>May 22, 2008 Day One

> Art Right outside my back door, the Big Sunflower River. The rivers here have been at flood stage for some time now. Even in adversity the river is beautiful.

Well a little introduction about my blog. I am an artist, who lives in a very rural area. The isolation is good for painting but bad for interaction with others. I decided to use cyberspace as a link to others. I hope I can give some helpful tips and pass on what I have discovered on my journey in art. I truly believe if we don’t share our knowledge with others we have left no lasting mark on this earth. Art is meant to be shared. So please let me know what you think of the blogs I post and ask me questions about art and I will try to answer them to my best ability.
About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >May 22, 2008 Day One

  1. Thomas says:

    >Hey nice pic of the river!-Thomas

  2. kathywithaK says:

    >Love the site and the ideas behind it. Like the picture of the river but love your paintings more. Look forward to your insight and shared experiences. Will be checking back often.

  3. Robert Stringer says:

    Cathy, this is an old friend from many, many years ago. A mutual friend told me all about you and your work today. I was so excited to hear this…but now that I’ve seen your work, I am thrilled. This is the coolest work that I have seen in a long, long time. This is the type art that I search for in museums that I visit! I somehow knew that you had this in you many years ago when you would visit my little office in the old Van Landingham building in Starkville and give me inspiration with my architecture work. I’ve been over several continents with my architecture, living in Trinidad, Caracus, Venezuela, Austin, Knoxville, and now back in Starkville. I have hundreds of millions of dollars worth of architecture out there but none of that moves me more than what I see on these pages. I am serious! Maybe, in some way, drinking beer on my roof and watching the sun rise touched you in some way….
    Hey, one of my current projects is a home for Richard and Diane in Perdido Beach, Florida…
    I am looking forward to seeing much more of your work…and I hope Diane purchases a large piece to display in the great space of this new home!
    Your old friend,
    Robert

Leave a Reply

