Guardians: DogTrot latest work ….

texture detail

Finished painting 40 x 30 inches and framed with black floater frame
Guardians: DogTrot was delivered to Jackson Street Gallery 2-24-2011
detail of Guardians:Dogtrot
detail of Guardians:Dogtrot

February has been a month of many surprises with the weather and the river.  The Sunflower River has eaten her share of my bank and yard.  I feel no ill toward the river, she gives me the best possible view of a river bend and in turn I feed her soil and riff raff that we have placed on the steep bank to hold what we feel is rightfully ours.  This is natural progression at it’s finest.  Progress continues in my studio, it is untidy but it is mine and I function at top speed when it looks the most unkempt.  I feed on the disconnect from order, it frees my mind to rove and fetch thoughts that might be sterilized and lost if  forced into an orderly retrieval  sequence instead of allowed to bubble and flow out on its own accord.

In this painting I began the process with the three figures, I always love the beginning stages when there is no worry about details, this is when I feel the closest to the painting, it is a moment of connection to the paint and canvas.  I began to fill in the background in rich reds and oranges but almost immediately I felt that  I missed the white of the canvas too much and the feeling became heavy so I added texture to the painting by mixing up about half and half  Golden High Solid Gel and white Gesso.  I applied it with a palette knife first and then then brushed over it with a squeegee giving it a smooth surface.  I  next brushed into it with a cheap ,old, stiff bristle brush.  This gave me a texture that in turn gave  me  the movement I wanted  for the painting.   I immediately began to feel the uplift that the white mixture has given the painting.  It is layered over the reds and oranges and bits of the previous layer are peeking through and it feels right. The next step was to  dry  (overnight)and then I began the layering of paint to build the depth of the colors in the painting.  I lost count at layer 17, so I have no idea how many were applied to this piece but with each layer, I found something more to say and new ways to achieve it. I am building a bit of history with the piece one layer at a time.  I will long after it is finished and gone remember moments from it’s creation and feel accomplishment. The important part of layering to me is the wait time between the layers, this is the time I sit back and just think about the painting, and the more layers the more thinking that is done and the better I feel my work is becoming in my mind.

I am growing older and slower and more methodical in my ways and the layering that I did in rapid succession earlier on my art journey is now much more thoughtful and deliberate  but there is method in my madness and I am learning that slow can be a fast way of discovering more about my art.

Finding a good place to end the process is often the hard part of painting. I placed the painting on an easel away from my work area and looked at it for a week or more before I added several strokes and called it finished.

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP

http://www.cathyhegman.com

*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
*All photography is copyright protected by Thomas Hegman and should not be rep

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guardians: DogTrot latest work ….

  1. akismet-05104e1536827c7853ebf26f8d4fff44 says:

    Another fantastic piece, Cathy.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love your new painting. I love animals! I volunteer at the MARL shelter in Jackson. I have been to Reform Seminary and have seen your precious cat painting which is truly my favorite besides the nature paintings you do of trees. I absolutely love trees and any nature paintings of yours. I pray one day I can take a lesson from you. I would love to talk with you one day when you have time to discuss this possibility though I do live in the Jackson, MS area. Thank you, Jennifer Lynn

    • Thank you Jennifer! I love animals too, and I am huge supporter of MARL, they do a super job! I know the painting at Reform Seminary that you are referring to, and it was one of my favorites as well. I truly hope we can one day meet and talk art. Thank you again and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

