Grateful Journeys

Rocko on the Big Sunflower River

Rocko Art Dawg at Large: on the Big Sunflower River

The floods have come and are slowly and methodically leaving, but not without a trail of shattered pieces of the landscape, strewn about like  sticks and leaves left  in a long since dried puddle. We are reminded that nature does not follow rules and patterns but marks new trails with lines of devastation of wind, water and fire.  I find it hard to concentrate on the things that a month ago seemed so important; but, now seem to be trivial in the scheme of things.   We have flood waters on one side of the levee, and dying and parched crops on the other side, I usually enjoy juxtapositions; but this one is much too painful and close to home for any enjoyment. I am grateful for not losing my home to the flood, and praying for rain daily.

The studio has been a refuge of sorts, I have been working although at a much slower pace these days.  The long days of summer have affected my work and my work ethics.

In the last post I was working on a painting, Sisters, and I have now completed it and it is on my website http://www.cathyhegman.com, if you care to see it’s finality .  I am grateful for my sister and our time here.

I began a new painting on wood panels, a triptych, it was to be one of the Dark Alice Series;but somehow, it morphed into something much more attuned to my thoughts at this point. Gratefulness for many reasons has been and remains heavy on my mind. I began this piece with layers of oil and cold wax on the wooden panels with no real design in mind, just the thought that I would carve and use reductive techiques  on the panels to get a somewhat abstracted landscape type painting to emerge from the layers.  Somewhere in the 6th layer of oil and cold wax, the figures came into play, I thought I would paint them out and kept reminding myself of the intent of this painting, but alas the trail was found and I followed it. I am glad I did not force myself to follow a predetermined  although not completely worked out plan.

Trinity oil and wax on wood panels 24 x 48 inches Cathy Hegman

Trinity oil and wax on wood panels 24 x 48 inches Cathy Hegman

Trinity was to be a landscape of wonderland and I suppose that it still remains just that; but in a different sense . I think it is good to let yourself go and see where you end up, I am pleased with this piece on many levels. It speaks in the language I have been working with in my painting for some time now, the indistinct edges that are not quite intentional or definite, but yet fully descriptive  in format.  I think this is how I see life these days.  Life is often just enough out of focus that it is bearable, but still focused enough to have meaning that gives us direction.

All for now as I am in the planning stage of the next painting…this is the best part!

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
*All photography is copyright protected by Thomas Hegman and should not be reproduced without written permission from Thomas Hegman
About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, cathyhegman, figure, painting, triptych. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grateful Journeys

  1. Ellen Devens says:

    Heartfelt and beautiful… you are an artist with brush and pen…. i absolutely love this piece…

  2. I love your work, Cathy. Your latest is almost heart-wrenching, yet it feels hopeful.

  3. Melinda Dees says:

    Really like the piece, “Cocktale”….your work seems like its transitioning. You get better with every piece you paint! So glad to call you my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

