Weight of Balance a work in progress

I have decided that there is no way to make my mind slow down, unless I commit the thoughts to paper or canvas. There is a time of rest in between finished works, that is brief but so welcomed.  I have not attained that feeling lately; as I have four or five paintings in the studio, each with some room for completion, but at a point where it is to be found only through deep thought and careful marks.  These are trying times for me.

My work is somewhat like a family in its formation; they are at times at odds with each other, but still connected by the blood of medium and the hand that made them  The figures in my work are depictions of mental thoughts; that lurk and ramble inside my head, until they eventually find their way down the brush and  into my work.  I see them as familiars, something intrinsically a part of both my life and my work.

Flight fascinates me, and having a son as a pilot, I feel somewhat compelled to paint about flight on occasion. There are delicate balances in flying that must be kept in order to safely fly.  I think that is apropos for me right now as I feel out of balance in life with the state of unfinished and unrest in my studio.  Here is a work in progress that is circling with the landing gear down but has not quite made it on to the runway.

This is the beginning of the piece….a figure with the  gesture of curiosity.

Beginning Stage of Weight of Balance by Cathy Hegman

Detail of Weight of Balance by Cathy Hegman

The addition and subtraction of layers …the covering and uncovering of artifacts leads to  the texture that I desire, not only physically but mentally.  There is something that happens in between the layers that  seems to breathe new life into the painting. I am not sure if it comes from the time spent on the piece or the effort expended.  I feel this painting is  close but not quite there at this point, but I  thought I would share the progression of the work….I also added a part of my son’s flight charts that gives the formula for weights and balances for pilots, it just felt right to include it at this point.  There is always a chance   it might disappear under the layers in the future.

Image

As always thank you for reading and I hope you find a sliver of inspiration in my work and words.

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, cathyhegman, drawing, figure, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight of Balance a work in progress

  1. Kat says:

    I so appreciate that you are posting “process”…not only of image but of the thoughts behind it. I find this so very valuable as it speaks to the unfinished projects in my own studio that I am reluctant to share until they have “gelled”. Thank you, Cathy.

    • Kat, I know it is really a problem with me these days…I think ppl learn as much or more from the stages as they do the finish…I know I do! Thank you for reading it and commenting, keeps me anxious to share knowing someone is enjoying it! Take care!

  2. nancy hart says:

    Cathy, The woman in your painting speaks to me as I have questions running through my head constantly. I feel her expression & stance state what I feel a lot, “why is this happening, what can God teach me through this experience.” Life is a fragile balance especially relationships. The paper airplanes to me are a statement of” lightness”–don’t take life so. seriously all the time, Don’t try to analyze or. figure out everything. Be curious but chill out with the analysis of details, motives, projections. Sorry- now I’m analyzing my own comment. I do get carried away sometimes. I do love your work. I would love to visit your studio sometime. Is that allowed?

    • Nancy! I love hearing what others feel about my art! Thank you so much! Yes call me and come see the studio, whenever you get ready! Thank you again! Hope all is well with you and I.N…take care and have a joyous and Merry Christmas!

  3. Just discovered your blog through Hye Coh’s. Love the way you paint, your imagination and writing!

Leave a Reply

