Land Figuring

And so it goes, the days turn into weeks and the weeks into months…the trees are bare and  stoic against the grayness of winter.  Life goes on, a birthday comes and goes, and the passage of time is marked in colorful strokes of memories.   I am in a darker place in the winter than other times of the year, it just seems to always happen like that in my life.  I am on the threshold of Spring, but it is not here yet.   Long, dark, moody days seem to persist.

I am in the studio as much as possible, but the beginning of the year demands laborious tasks of record keeping from the previous year to be tended.  I am almost at the end of that torturous endeavor.  Thank the good Lord for that.

My mind is in hundreds of places at this time, and it is a time of disquiet, and little if any sleep for me.  I am in self made chains of distraction, that keep me in a state of vacillation in my art.  My mind wanders and finds no sure paths; other than the familiar trails left by previous paintings, that have no need of being taken again, so the journey becomes one of searching more than pleasure at this stage.

I am having some success, albeit long and hard won at times.  I am working with a muse that came to me  at a funeral.  Ashes to ashes and dust to dust was part of the graveside service, a familiar rift of words; but one that struck me as something I need to pursue in my art.  I am trying to meld the figure with the landscape and finding the commonality and the connectivity that exists.  My impetus is to see if land and figure can almost become one, yet still remain a figure in a landscape painting.  As a person that comes from a long line of farmers and currently married to a farmer, the land has a integral part of my life.  We are literally tied to and count on the land to survive, and one day will return to it.  I think in looking back on several of my paintings, I was subconsciously pursuing this goal.  I am focusing on the texture to carry the load of the paintings, as the textures will give it an affinity through the paint regardless of hues I choose to use.  I am always trying to find ways to transcend ordinary methodology in painting.  I cannot be happy with repetition no matter how well received  it might be with the public.  There is something in the discovery in art, that lures me like a junkie to heroin.  I have to find some newness in my art, to be happy with it. I believe as we grow we get more discerning in our art and  in our art making.  I find the beauty in art for me, is often found in the making of the art, and the trails and marks left by the process.  It is often not pretty, but tortured and wrought from hours of working, that in the end mesmerizes with its simplicity.

This is painted on a panel I ordered last year, Art and Enns Panels http://www.jerrysartarama.com/discount-art-supplies/canvas-and-boards/canvas-panels-and-boards/art-and-enns-art-panels.htm  .  I found the panel  to be great with only one drawback; the cradles are rather thin, and I found them  too thin to float in a floater frame.  So I had to opt for a deep flat frame. I am sure the cradles are thin because the panel itself is very tough and rigid and would stand alone without cradles just fine. You could just hang it without framing, but I don’t like the thinner panels without frames; although, each to his own in their framing. The surface is great and I will order more of these panels.  I painted this painting in acrylic but the panel can handle any media.

Here is the resulting painting. I titled it LandLady…but I may tweak the title as it feels foreign but for now will suffice.

detail of the beginning stages of LandLadyDetail of Landlady by Cathy Hegman

Detail of texture on figure

Detail of Landlady by Cathy Hegman

Land Lady by Cathy Hegman 36 x 24 acrylic on panel

Black and White shot of LandLady to show the values achieved

Thank you for reading my blog and I hope it helps in your art making, viewing or otherwise just love of creation.   Take care,

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in acrylic, Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Land Figuring

  1. As usual… good one, Cathy. Interesting… land and figure. Not being a figurative painter, I love watching yours develop.

  2. Thomas says:

    Great entry. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with. This is a great concept to work on… I need to figure out how to get inspired by little things like you do. Springs coming.

  3. Pingback: Weight of Balance | Cathy Hegman Art and Life

Leave a Reply

