Weight of Balance

Weight of Balance

Posted on April 30, 2012

I sometimes feel there is more information in the physical texture than in the actual content in my work.  I am drawn to the mysteries of life, the defining moments that make us who we are and give us our individuality. In my art the mysteries lurk somewhere deep in the murky myriad of  layers of texture in my work.  I am bent to paint non complicated subjects and in the process give them complicated meanings, this is the crux of my painting attitude.  I feel it gives the painting a presence that is intriguing in it’s simplicity and I find endless delight in this process.  Here is a current piece.

I began this painting last week while at Mississippi Art Colony.  I had a fractured week of working on paintings  while trying to take care of my duties as a Board member at Art Colony, and wrestling with my introverted personality in the midst of 42 other working artists.

I began it as part of the series of working with the figure in the landscape as a metaphor of life.  I want the painting to be simple yet complicated, motionless yet moving, I want to evoke a feeling of simply being alive and existing in a personal space. The moments in my life when I feel ageless, stand out to me, I am remembering my past and living my present all in the same instant, there is something so comforting and familiar in these  moments to me.  This is the effort behind  some of my work this year.  I want to define the simple in complicated layers, just as we define our inner selves with the complicated layers of life. In my process, I choose to work physically to meld the layers of paint together, in layers of varying degrees of opacity and using anything I can find to create marks. Here are a few of my favorite tools…they are in the foreground on the table below…

I find the layering helps me to become more deeply embedded and involved with the paintings and their substance.  I find the quality of the surface is more demanding and complicated than I have ever painted before; and there is an evolution here that lets me know my art is turning a corner and moving.  I think the one fear I have as an artist is that I will stagnate, there is nothing I fear more than being unable to create work that moves me personally and keeps me motivated to move others.

I use large jars of paints and large brushes to create my work..the large amounts of paint give you the luxury of not having to worry about running out of paint…believe me this is an important aspect when painting! I use all brands of paint and even mix some of my own,but I love Nova paints from California, they are professional paints at an economical price.   Here is their link http://www.novapaints.com

Thank you for reading my blog and I hope it gives you the push to notice the small things in your life that define your inner being.

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
Be the first to like this post.

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Edit

Leave a Reply

Enter your comment here…

 
 

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, female, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight of Balance

  1. timruane24 says:

    Your paintings are excellent, superb.

Leave a Reply

