April 2013 work in progress

Beginning stages of WallFlowers by Cathy Hegman

Beginning stages of WallFlowers by Cathy Hegman

Here are a few shots of what I am working on this month.  I am trying out unstretched canvas and mounting it to my studio wall. I have had rolls of unstretched canvas in my studio for a while now. I bought it with the thought of being able to do custom sizes etc., but since that time I found a man in Texas that will make my canvas in custom sizes for me, so the rolls have been languishing around in my studio for a year or more now. They are huge rolls and I keep moving them from one place to another in order to find other things in my studio.  I decided I needed to use them…so here goes with the first one.

I have over the last year or more been deeply concerned with the surface quality of my paintings, to the point of really pressing myself to experiment with hues I don’t normally use and tools that might be a bit unorthodox for art making. The journey has led to many hours of working with layers of texture and pigment that has yielded me some pretty interesting pieces in both hue and texture, and I like them and they seem well received.  That is the first sign of complacency in art for me, I need to press further, or else I risk the redundancy syndrome. Painting just because it worked last time…I have to keep myself actively engaged or else I might become an automotron turning out paintings that are so similar they become a bit trite.

Luckily, I was asked to make larger work for a gallery, which I like to do, but this time, when I thought about the larger work, I wanted my figures to be more evident and a part of, but not melded into their surroundings as they often are in my work.  I want them to have a more defined character, that will personify my intent in these coming paintings almost a metamorphosis of a sort for me. I want to do this without making them too definitive, it is a tricky balance to achieve.

This first painting, WallFlowers, will be the jumping off point for me.  It will let me test myself, to see if this is truly the angle I want to pursue.  I will continue my other series throughout the year, but something in my mind is wiggling around, and I am  thinking it is time for something a bit newer and maybe different for my figures.

Just to keep this in size perspective, I am working on a 72 x 52 inch unstretched canvas mounted on the studio wall.  I have not done this in the past, but I have the canvas on hand and I might as well give it a go.  I put plastic on the wall first then the canvas…I nailed it across the top and left the side hanging with thumbtacks in them, which I found quickly loose their grip so you might forego that step if you want to do this. I am particularly rough on my surfaces so I substantially nailed my top edge.( * I am open to,and would welcome, I might add,  any advice anyone has on using unstretched canvas for painting).

This will keep me loose as I will not feel pressured with this surface, as it has not been stretched and if all fails; then all I have lost is time and paint, but I will have gained new insight for the process.

I do like to paint large; but the one thing I have noticed with using the wall, is  that I have to have a step ladder to reach the top of the canvas, with stretched canvas I can put it on my easel and raise and lower it accordingly.  It is good exercise though, so maybe I should have been doing this all along. I get a workout while I work.

Here is the point I have reached so far, I am liking where it is going.  Note in the black and white shot you can clearly see I need more dark values in the painting: the lower left is screaming for some dark value and I will attend to that tomorrow!

WIP WallFlowers 62 x 42 acrylic 2013 CathyHegman lsmall file stage 2 WIP WallFlowers 62 x 42 acrylic 2013 CathyHegman lsmall file stage 2bw

More to come..hopefully…

Thank you for reading my blog, I am always grateful.

Take care,

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.
About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in acrylic, Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, female, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to April 2013 work in progress

  1. Good for you, Cathy…. keep on pushing on. I really like this painting…..

  2. Boydthomasco says:

    Kathy, I am an admirer of your work. I just finished a large painting for someone in NY and to ship it more cost effectively, I painted it on unstretched canvas and let her have it framed in NY. I use two basic, unfinished , hollow-core doors bought at a Home Depot turned sideways and put on two easels. I can use pushpins to hold the canvas in place. This works well for me. Bill Womac

    Boyd Thomas Clothing 227 W. Broadway Av. Maryville, TN 37801 P865.982.8756 F865.982.8622 boydthomasco@aol.com

    • Thank you Bill! I appreciate the kind words and the helpful advice! I will def look into that as my husband seemed a bit unnerved at the fact that I never flinched as I nailed the canvas to the wall. I was worried about the canvas and he the wall…LOL…
      Your way would be much easier on the back and legs!
      Many thanks!
      Cathy

  3. Charlotte Cornett says:

    Looks great, love what you are doing! I’m thinking of using stretched canvas when I attend the workshop in June. There are many to choose from, any one that you prefer to use? Also, who are you using In Tx to do custom sizes canvas for you?

    • Charlotte, I use Pat at Sunbelt mfg in Longview for my stretched canvases and for cradled wood boards he is great and very economical..Cheryl told me about him…I was using in this case some raw unstretched canvas I had in rolls, I primed it with gesso and flexgel, I will in the future get primed canvas though as that would cut a good bit of work out of this endeavor and you could get right to the good parts of painting.

Leave a Reply

