Observance

A cool snap in the middle of a heat wave is enough to make one believe in miracles.  The weather has been divine the past couple of days, and has made me take numerous extravagant breaks from work to just go outside and sit and enjoy the nice dry cooler weather.  These small portions of the day give way to deep thoughts of nature and the natural order of the outside world and how it is so different than the centrally cooled and manipulated inside of the studio. Unfortunately the cool snap with it’s dryness will all end tonight with humidity creeping back and rains on the way.

I have been in the studio in between my sits outside, and worked on a painting that began as more of a planned piece, something I don’t often do.  The painting ended up being again, one that had to be worked and manipulated, until I could uncover the parts of my painting that were not familiar to me, that in a strange comforting way always  surprises me.  And the visits with nature outside became a part of the painting, changing the overall composition slightly but immeasurably adding to the thought content.

Here are the four stages I happened to photograph along the way.  I am working with more tactile texture now, and it seems to defy; yet also, enhance the figure.  It is something new to study and work with and I am enjoying the search immensely.

Stage one: drawing…much too planned

The beginning drawing. This started as two figures but after several layers the second figure became redundant to me and not necessary for the piece.

The beginning drawing. This started as two figures but after several layers the second figure became redundant to me and not necessary for the piece.

Adding the paint layers seemed to change the original thought of the painting and I began to feel the disconnect in the thought process and the actual painting...I was also very aware of the constant leaving and sitting outside and the change in how I not only saw the painting each time I came back but also in the way I felt about the painting each time I came back from outside.  I rapidly began to change the painting at this point.

Adding the paint layers seemed to change the original thought of the painting and I began to feel the disconnect in the thought process and the actual painting…I was also very aware of the constant leaving and sitting outside and the change in how I not only saw the painting each time I came back but also in the way I felt about the painting each time I came back from outside. I rapidly began to change the painting at this point.

Here is a detail of the figure.  I love the fact that through the process of adding and subtracting paint, it emerged and seemed to have an observant but also a movement that belied the in and out I had done while painting this image.  Often our lives manifest in our work without our conscious mind seeing it until it has occurred.  This is one of the most compelling reasons of "why" I paint.  I like that some part of me that I would otherwise keep hidden will sneak out and parade itself in the paint.

Here is a detail of the figure. I love the fact that through the process of adding and subtracting paint, it emerged and seemed to have an observant but also a movement that belied the in and out I had done while painting this image. Often our lives manifest in our work without our conscious mind seeing it until it has occurred. This is one of the most compelling reasons of “why” I paint. I like that some part of me that I would otherwise keep hidden will sneak out and parade itself in the paint.

 Weight of Balance: Observance by Cathy Hegman Acrylic and gel on board The final version...you can plainly see the outside visits merged with the observing figure to form the painting. I can feel the quiet contemplation and that was; in the end, the feeling I was seeking.

Weight of Balance: Observance
by Cathy Hegman
Acrylic and gel on board
The final version…you can plainly see the outside visits merged with the observing figure to form the painting. I can feel the quiet contemplation and that was; in the end, the feeling I was seeking.

Thank you for reading my blog, I am always grateful.

Take care,

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAPhttp://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Observance

  1. Love the painting Cathy………but I also love the beginning drawing as it is. Isn’t it great to have this break in the weather……..so thankful is right. I have been told we always reveal ourselves in our work…

    • Thanks Cheryl! YES the weather has been wonderful…I loved the drawing too, but it lost something when the paint was added and it lost it’s gusto for me…glad I took some pics of the transitions that happened…Thanks for reading it!

  2. Lisa Rosenthal says:

    Loved reading your blog. It’s nice to see the process and how it ultimately ends up. It was inspiring and I like all the different paintings that happen in between.
    Love your work!
    Lisa

  3. Judy Shreve says:

    I love your work and really learn a lot every time I visit your blog. Thanks for taking us through from drawing to painting and adding your thought process as well. You are an inspiration.

    • Thank you Judy! I am glad you like it! It really helps me to understand my work if I write about it and verbalize my process. I think it is a good practice for artists to really dig as deeply as possible into the cerebral part of their art, it opens doors that might otherwise remain closed. So glad it helps others!!!

      Take care,
      Cathy

  4. Jeannie says:

    I came across your blog and this painting while searching for something else. Your work is fantastic and this painting is steller!!

  5. joan Anderson says:

    Really wonderful. I have been a figure painter for 40+years and in the past two years really fighting to leave realism and go toward abstract. Your work has been an inspiration. I got your book. Just having it sitting in the studio, reminds me where I WANT to go! thanks!

    • Thank you Joan! I am so thrilled you bought my book and that it is serving you well! I think it is very much a common thread we all share, to move and morph with our work, so I am sure you are heading in a good direction! I would love to see your work, please send me your website!!
      Thank you again for taking the time to post a comment!!!
      Take care,
      Cathy

Leave a Reply

