Processing for workshops to come…..

I was asked again the other day if I would like to teach a workshop in 2015.  I get a momentous thrill every time I am considered, there is the swell of anticipation of sharing with others in the flesh and not online or in a blog.  I get really jazzed up thinking about the process, and then the jazz gets all wonky when I try to nail down exactly how I would teach my process;  or if that would even interest anyone.  The process itself in my mind seems logical and pretty much the same each time; but I know to others it would not appear anything like that.  I approach everything with one goal, to find something new.  I even do that when I vacuum my house, I rearrange furniture and tabletops each time.  I create a new landscape in which to move and exist and it reinvigorates me.  I think my art is like that, I have a need to keep things changing and moving to keep the momentum going.

I am always looking for new ways to portray the figure, for me the figure is simply a shape on the plane of a surface, so most, if not all of my figures are not portraits,or a depiction of any person, but more a symbol in my work. I have struggled with putting in, or leaving out features on faces in my work. I have been asked so many times why I choose to paint without identifying features.  I think the answer is in the question, I am not trying to paint a particular person, I am after a shape that is easily recognizable as a figure, but not an identified figure.  I tend toward shadowy silhouetted shapes that become as integral in the painting as the areas around it, I love the cohesive feel it gives me.  I find the moods that I most often  choose to express are complacent and introspective, rather quiet times of inner reflection, they seem important to me in this chaotic world.  We have to stop and think deeply about our lives and find reflection.  I have just begun to meditate, for years I could not quiet my mind for any length of time.  I started listening to a brain wave stimulation app on my phone most days, it is called Brainwave A Day, it is free and I really think it has helped me to focus and relax.  It uses music that they have engineered to encourage specific brain activity.   I really love it.

 

The technique aspect of my work is found in texture, I simply cannot end a painting without having an ample amount of texture.  I am drawn to work that has something that is mysteriously interesting, and texture always fills that need for me.  In other artist’s  work, I tend to spend many more hours studying works that are filled with texture; than I do work that is pristine and smooth. I think the texture in a way lifts the work into an almost three dimensional quality, and that just feels more real to me.  I don’t want a replica of anything; I want something original that I can see as new .

I love all art, but to me this particular  textural kind of art speaks most clearly, there is no pretense, no fussiness, just honest emotions  smeared and spattered over a canvas and on occasion you can see the marks of frustration over layered yet still present all adding up to a wonderfully complete painting.  

 
detail of Quiet Title There is something so compelling about hands to me.   I think they can exhibit many emotions.  Here I have tried a string to the finger signifying a remembrance of something..perhaps the land, fence or the marks locating the treasures...

detail of Quiet Title
There is something so compelling about hands to me. I think they can exhibit many emotions. Here I have tied a string to the finger signifying a remembrance of something..perhaps the land, fence or the marks locating the treasures…

detail of Quiet Title figure  Here is where the texture is most important to me. I use texture as a symbol or linkage of the figure to the rest of the painting surface.  I often paint the figure then re-texture the background and foreground many times before I get to the point of completion. detail of Quiet Title figure
Here is where the texture is most important to me. I use texture as a linkage of the figure to the rest of the painting surface. I often paint the figure then re-texture the background and foreground many times before I get to the point of completion.  Sometimes I layer over and remove and then layer it again to achieve a rich and harmonious texture full of lines and remnants of lines .  The old adage that you have to work to achieve, is never more true than with texture in paintings.  

                                                          

Quiet Title Cathy Hegman 48 x 36 inches

Quiet Title
Cathy Hegman
48 x 36 inches

 

                             

Thank you for reading my blog, I am always grateful.

 

Take care,

 

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP

http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.

                             

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in acrylic, Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, female, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Processing for workshops to come…..

  1. LOL.. what can I say… know what you mean about teaching a workshop. Cathy, this is a fabulous piece and I love what you say about your work, thoughts and process

    I’ll have to look for that app………..I could use a little focus myself.

  2. You will love the app Cheryl! I thought of you as I wrote the blog about workshops. Thank you!!!

  3. Judy O'Neal says:

    Cathy, I love this painting, as well as your other work. I am enjoying reading your insights to your work. I recently noticed a book you have written, and it also looks wonderful. It was so great to meet you at Colony and watch you work. Hope to see you soon and hopefully go to one of your workshops. Happy Painting!!
    Judy O’Neal

  4. janet wise says:

    I just got back from a one week workshop on Cape Cod for encaustics with pigment sticks on glass. I’d love to know about a workshop with you as the instructor. I live in L.A. Where might you teach??? Please let me know if you decide to do one. Your work resonates with my own, only yours have great figures while mine are mostly textural (some figures though).

    • Thank you Janet! I am currently not teaching but will post it on my blog and facebook if I do any workshops! The encaustic on glass sounds intriguing! I will bet that was so interesting!
      I am so glad our work seems to have a common thread! That is really lovely!
      Thank you for reading my blog and for your interest in workshops!

      Take care,
      Cathy

  5. Lori DeJong says:

    I stumbled across your work about 6 months ago and I am so intrigued. Your use of the figure, the textures, the color schemes… all of it! I equally enjoy reading your blog. You describe so clearly the heart and soul that is a part of the painting process. I paint with oils and one frustration that I have had is trying to achieve layers and textures. I am learning about the cold wax and oil paint techniques. Do you have any advice for me? Do you plan to teach any workshops this year? Sincerely, Lori

    • Dear Lori,

      Thank you for reading my blog and the kind words! I love cold wax and the ability and ease of layering when using it. It is simply a medium but one that possesses a unique quality of thickening the pigment and giving it textures that I love and a matte sheen when dry. The wax is very forgiving and the translucency of the wax lets you layer without getting muddy as quickly as you would with just the pigment. That being said you still must remember to mix your hues avoiding the muddiness that is achieved when you mix complements in a 50/ 50 ratio or use earth colors too heavily. I usually put the wax and pigment mixture down and then thin it out with either a brush or roller or scraper, leaving a thin layers,but you can use thick layers if you prefer it will just a bit longer to dry and set up for you. I* just prefer them to be thin and use many layers. It gives you an endless supply of possibilities when you use the wax. I wish you the very best success with the medium and I know you will truly love it. I am not currently teaching but if I do decide I have time and will teach again, I will shoot you an email and let you know! Thank you for your comment!
      Cathy

Leave a Reply

