This is a work in progress...I am thinking of  turning my intentions to mixing geometric shapes with my figures...for some reason the figures just seem to be too stagnant lately...

This is a work in progress…I am thinking of turning my intentions to mixing geometric shapes with my figures…for some reason the figures just seem to be too stagnant lately…

I feel terribly lackadaisical about the path of this painting. It feels stagnant and dead to me. This is another painting in progress in my Wall Flowers series, and I am feeling the  need to explore the figure further.  I am thinking of making a more graphic geometric shape based figure, while leaving parts of the figure as something that is recognizably my figurative work.  I so love the silhouettes and dark figures;but this may be a new turn to take on my journey.  I will just have to see how this progresses over the next few weeks,months or years.  I am hopeful that I will discover something new in my work that will give me more insight. 

wallflowers 3 tan lines plan of attackAbove is a crude photoshopped version of the plan I am making for this painting.  I am feeling the gestural lines in this version give this painting a better movement.  I like the way the rough lines, and the darks, take this painting from a very general painting of figures, to a much more dynamic figurative painting.  The struggle will be to achieve my intentions in paint.  

Below is the beginning of the new version.  I had to completely obliterate the bodies in the original stage in the beginning of this post, to get to this point.  I feel I am pretty much following the photoshopped plan of attack.
WallFlowers tanlines

WallFlowers tanlines detailThe gestural lines are much too strong for me at this point, but they will be layered over and worked into the background before this is over.  I do recognize the need to minimize them at this point and that is half the battle knowing when something needs manipulation.  I like the movement of the dark shapes against the background, I can feel torsos without having to actually see it defined for me.  

WallFlowers tanlines stage 5

Working on the background and the foreground shapes at the same time, I work the blue and coral lines back into the background and then I repaint them several times to get the effect I want to achieve. This is a mantra for me, I very rarely lay down a layer of paint that remains pristine in my work.  I have a bent towards working physically with the paint. I have always had a penchant for a surface rich with textural layers of pigment.  I want the blue and coral lines to pulsate but I don’t want them to be a focal point. WallFlowers tanlines stage 5 detail

Progression of the piece is one of a struggle to achieve the balance of many factors.  I want the more descriptive head shapes to be offset against a very graphic body shape,  and I want these figural shapes to become part of the whole background in the painting, and vice versa.  Why would I want to do this?  I am constantly looking for something new and different that relates more intimately how I feel about the figures in my art.   They are not just figures to me; but more a part of an abstract field of paint, that attempts to convey the resonance of life itself. The figure is the subject, yet it is still a strong foundation of the whole. It is in motion yet motionless at the same time as we are in life. I strive to make my work  more of an extract than a precise thought, therefore, it does not need hard lines or descriptive details and text to give it a validation.  This painting has the figurative shape with a face; not always the norm for my work, yet it still reads as a shape and not a definitive face.  I could take the face out even further and obliterate it with more paint later; but for today, I think I will leave it and see how I feel about it tomorrow.  Often for me the distance of time can help me to see my work more clearly and make integral decisions.   I am not there yet but I can feel the finish is close now.

Thank you for reading my blog, I am always grateful.

Take care,

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP

http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.

                             

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Ro Rainwater says:

    What I’m attracted to in this work, is that while the figures read female at first, they actually look like men, especially their faces, but the gesture of their bodies as well. As though a sport team was posing for a pic just before starting a game, dressed as women. Surreality. ☺

    • Wow Ro! Thank you for that comment! You are so insightful!!! I love that you see that in my figures… that is so cool! I love hearing what other artist’s feel about my work…gives it more dimension in my mind…. I appreciate your leaving a comment. One more thing…COME BACK TO COLONY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Hey…. LIKE… Must be something in the ether… I have been fooling around with more geometry/graphic shapes, too…although entirely differnt from your figuration. Btw… Like Ro’s comment, too.

  3. patty says:

    Cathy, I have so totally run out of expletives to share with you after I read your blog and become immersed in your paintings and thoughts. I really like the direction you are going with this, even though I know that it may appear dramatically altered the next time you post it. I am just fascinated, once again, by your insights and ability to transcend the viewer to another place and time perhaps. You have inspired me to get my tired, injured self back to my easel as soon as I am able. Miss you

    • Patty! You always say the nicest things~ You are the best friend ever! Thank you so much for always taking the time to comment and make me feel good about blogging and painting! Get well soon and come home and see us!

Leave a Reply

