Little Houses

And spring arrives, often with tempestuous weather, but always somewhere between the thunder and lightening lies the renewal and growth.  My interest in birds, wings, flight, and nests has been an ongoing theme in much of my  work for years.  I believe I became most interested in flight when my oldest child became a pilot.  I had an intense need to know the what and how of flight, in an effort to cling to the last bastions of being a protective mother. I began to deeply relate to the mother birds, especially those moments when their babies leave the nest, how insanely fearful they must be, but they rely on the knowledge of their predecessors for the strength and grace of acceptance of the plan laid out for them. One series that evolved from the birds is Little Houses.  

  This year I am integrating  my little houses series with artists of the past that have meant something to me in one form or another.   

I will have an exhibit in New Orleans at Carol Robinson’s Gallery  this October. I thought it would be nice to give you a tiny insight into the Little Houses series.

The piece I am working on in the studio this month is Little Houses: Red House.   The artist that inspired this piece is Jimi Hendrix and his song Red House, a song that was still popular in the early 70’s, at a very significant time in my life.  I found solace in songs when I was in jr. high and high school, I would love to be able to thank these artists for their music and songs that  shaped and formed my life in ways unimaginable and they continue to do so. Music is a powerful form of art.

 

Little Houses-Red House_60 x 48_2016_acryliccanvas_copyright Cathy Hegman smalljpegwm (1 of 1)

Little Houses: Red House by Cathy Hegman 60 x 49 inches

 

 

 

Thank you for reading my blog, I hope it in some way helps and interests you about art and painting.

Take care,

Cathy Hegman

 

Copyright © 2016

Copyright © 2016 Cathy Hegman All rights reserved.

All materials both written and photographed and posted on this site are subject to copyrights owned by Cathy Hegman. Any reproduction, retransmissions, or republication of all or part of any document found on this site is expressly prohibited, unless Cathy Hegman has explicitly granted its prior written consent to so reproduce, retransmit, or republish the material. All other rights reserved.

 

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Houses

  1. )eannie )oseph says:

    Cathy, how I love your art.

  2. joyce may says:

    I cannot tell you how much I love your art. But, more than that, I love your writing. It reminds me of one of my favorite authors, Alice Hoffman. Thank you for sharing your gifts with all of us.

Leave a Reply

