Last tea…with George

It is a beautiful day today, after a week of rain and depressing overcast skies.  I am thankful. Many days pass and I work and I think of those that have been in my life that have in some way given me some form of inspiration, or instruction that has formed my art.  I found out on Facebook last month, that one of the most important people on my art journey passed away.  I was shocked to see it and immediately felt a deep emptiness…it was late one night when I saw the post, and I ran outside and looked up at the twinkling stars and felt a comfort and relief and a strange understanding.    I believe deeply that we simply transition and if there is anything of us left on this earth, it resides in those that we touched along the way.  George James was a fascinatingly fabulous artist, he basically pioneered watercolor on Yupo paper.  I was so interested in his process when I first heard of him.   I took a class from him many years ago, and was hooked on not only his process but his unending knowledge of design. I went on through the years to take his workshop  over and over when I could just to get a chance to talk with him about process, design and art in general.  He was always so insightful and such a deep thinker on art issues. This man was the most genuine person I  have ever encountered, he had a soft demeanor that veiled a fierce mind.  He was an incredible friend and we kept up off an on through the years, but sadly I did not know his health had deteriorated so much in the last few years. I am sad that  I was so unaware but not surprised that he did not share it . I will honor his memory and his impact on my art for all the days I have left.   I feel so blessed to have been able to have known him and his fabulous art.  He and his wife, Isabel were the loveliest people .  I have said endless prayers for Isabel as I know how difficult it must be for her. Here is  a link to his website :  www.georgejameswatercolor.com

Mississippi Art Colony was this past week. I found myself working on a painting with George in mind. When I am troubled, I often work through it in my painting and working in my studio.   I somehow felt this would be a fitting way to remember him in paint.  He and I both were deeply involved in work that had a narrative, we talked on this subject many times and although this one is less cryptic than most of my work, it is obviously a work built around the things that George employed in his work and that remind me of him. It is  my homage filled with pigmented  gratitude for all that I learned from this wonderful instructor/mentor.  He will be missed but never forgotten.

Last Tea with George by Cathy Hegman

Last Tea with George-36 x 24-acrylic-2016-copyright Cathy Hegman smallwm (1 of 1)

Last Tea with George by Cathy Hegman

Take care,

Cathy Hegman

 

Copyright © 2016

Copyright © 2016 Cathy Hegman All rights reserved.

All materials both written and photographed and posted on this site are subject to copyrights owned by Cathy Hegman. Any reproduction, retransmissions, or republication of all or part of any document found on this site is expressly prohibited, unless Cathy Hegman has explicitly granted its prior written consent to so reproduce, retransmit, or republish the material. All other rights reserved.

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Last tea…with George

  1. What a fitting tribute to a great artist and teacher. George touched my life as well, and I love how you phrase that he will live on in us. And in his art, I might add! I’m so glad that I bought one of his paintings when I had a chance, years ago. Beautiful, emotional painting. Thanks for sharing.

  2. cdmcclure says:

    Thoughtful tribute to your friend, Cathy. I am so sorry for your loss.

    • Thank you….he will be missed…i first took his workshop at a pivotal point in my art life…he gave me courage to push forward…so grateful he told me to push against the grain and paint what I felt…not what other supposedly informed told me to paint…best advice I ever got!

  3. Cathy, I love the way the painting came out and I know George would have loved it too. It is such a beautiful tribute to him, as is this post. We’ve talked about his impact on us. I can’t help but imagine how many shared the beauty of his work, were soothed by his presence and whose art was changed by his teaching. He has left a profound and far-reaching legacy. This is a moving tribute. xo

  4. Hi Cat,

    I had the opportunity to meet George a couple years back at an NWS opening. We had a good chat out on the patio. I admire him and his work. I considered him a brother in YUPO. haha. He has a chapter in Betsy Dillard Stroud’s new book http://www.amazon.com/Watercolor-Masters-Legends-Techniques-Visionary/dp/1440335265 just released this month. He is in the Legends section of the book.

    Stan

  5. Oh by the way, I love your painting!

  6. This was a beautiful rememberance of George and a fitting painting featuring his often painted teapot and tea cups. I have spent time with George and Isabel and taken several workshops with George. Because of him I often revert to Yupo when art is not going the way I wish. The ability to wipe out a passage on Yupo makes it less daunting and extremely freeing. I am glad I purchased several small paintings offered during workshops and one demonstration of his I regard highly above all art I have purchased. George will always be remembered with fondness. We all lost a wonderful artist. I have his home address if you wish to write Isabel.

  7. We were lucky enough to receive a few Christmas cards as well. They were unique.

Leave a Reply

