Falling into Autumn

The fall Mississippi Art Colony marks the closure of another art year.  We had a fantastic time and enjoyed the wonderful weather and camaraderie with each other.  The air was thick with words and thoughts telling tales of art endeavors,discoveries and accomplishments since the spring session.   The two weeks of painting among others, the freedom of living and breathing nothing but art is a welcome change for me each spring and fall and has come to be a signal of the seasons.  It is a time of sharing and expanding the boundaries, a bit of risk taking and a chance to release some of the thoughts and ideas that have been gestating in the studio and in my head to people who will understand and appreciate the efforts and perhaps give me the feedback I need to propel myself forward.

My focus has been on figurative art for the last several years and it continues.  I persevere with this subject not because I think I am particularly good at it, but because there is something deep inside of me, maybe in the marrow of my bones that tells me I have more to learn.   I have learned to go with your inner self’s direction, it seems to always lead you to the place you were meant to go.

Here a few of the pieces I worked on at Art Colony this fall.

Wool Gatherers by Cathy Hegman Hugh Williams Drawing Award Recipient Fall Mississippi Art Colony

Time Flies by Cathy Hegman

Time Constraints by Cathy Hegman

The bottom two are in various stages of finish and will need the proper vision and time to finish each one.  I am also still working in inks and drawing on unfriendly surfaces for ink, in an effort to push the limits of my drawing and working in a realm of chaos and or lack of control.  I like this place, it is for me, a freeing experience to know that each drawing is on the brink of loss and disaster with every drop of ink that hits the surface.  It is a good lesson in letting go of the precious.  Trust me, many drawings are scrapped in the process.  There are very few that make the cut and get to be counted among the successes.  I think editing is one of the keys to making really good art. Editing in all realms of the process of creating is usually a good habit to form. Editing in the process of painting takes enormous restraint and thought, but in the end pays off.  Perhaps the pay off is  not at first glance; but, I have found the pieces that I have put the most time and thought into, are always the ones that I go to again and again for new inspiration.  Leave some information out and it will always force the viewer and or creator to fill it in, then the art becomes interactive and stimulating.  Art without the interactive stimulation is simply decoration for the walls.

As always thank you for reading and I hope you find a sliver of inspiration in my work and words.
Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, cathyhegman, drawing, figure, painting, triptych, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Falling into Autumn

  1. These are wonderful works. I really like the first and third ones. Just beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Patty says:

    Cathy, as always, I love your presentation of words and explanation. The last sentence hit home with me most this time. “Art without the interactive stimulation is just decoration for the walls.” I wish you would write a book that I could read over and over again to help me remember that I should always paint from within and not what I think others will like. It is an especially hard thing right now as I try to become “accepted” in a new town as an artist. I will continue to try to paint from that special place that God has given to me as a gift that I cherish but it is so difficult to go there sometimes. Any words of wisdom for your old friend??

    • Patty, Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and to give me such a sweet comment. I wish I could write a book, but gee whiz I have folks grammar checking me on FB and twitter all the time, hahaha I don’t think I am the book writing material at this point. I am glad the line resonates with you, we should all remember to be true to our inner self when we are in the creative moments, and everyone knows the constant clawing in our head to paint for money, or paint what will sell, or worse paint what you think someone will accept, who are we really seeking acceptance from anyway?
      Paint what you know, and that will keep you true to your self, don’t try to fit into a mold that was made for someone else… I know I sound like a broken record but years ago, that is the advice I got from Alex Powers back in 1990, and I tell myself over and over to never forget those words. Thank you again for taking your time to read my blog and comment! Really miss you here!!! Come back to see us sometime!!!

Leave a comment