New Works….spring is in the air….

ImageStill Life #1 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

Still Life #1 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

detail of Still Life #1 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

detail of Still Life #1 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30 to show the texture and marks in the painting

I find myself today putting the finishing touches on a couple of paintings that I have been working on in the studio for the last few months.   They have been almost family to me at this point; as they have been the first faces I have seen in the studio and the last when I turn out the lights.  I have found there is a closeness to my work that develops, when I give myself the luxury of taking my time with paintings, as  I did with these two.  I worked on them simultaneously, but they each captured a unique personality trait that mirrors something buried deep in my soul.  They stand solitary but strong, and on their own they command the surroundings that engulf them.

detail of Still Life #2 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

detail of Still Life #2 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30 to show the texture and line in the painting

 Still Life #2 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

Still Life #2 Acrylic mixed media by Cathy Hegman 40 x 30

As always thank you for reading and I hope you find a sliver of inspiration in my work and words.

Cathy Hegman AWS,NWS,MSWS,MOWS, SAA,SW, ISAP
http://www.cathyhegman.com
*All artwork and text included in this blog is copyright protected by Cathy Hegman and should not be reproduced in any form or fashion or used without the written permission of Cathy Hegman. All text and artwork included in this blog are solely the thoughts and original art of the artist, Cathy Hegman, unless otherwise noted, and are meant only to be guidelines and thoughts for others to read.my blog.

About Cathy S. Hegman

Art, much like a road links people together both visually and mentally. One can attain a glimpse inside the artist’s soul by studying the artist’s work, and perhaps find something that links them to the artist and the art. A work of art has the ability to resonate and touch the emotions without regard to age, gender, race, or religion through the application of pigment to canvas or paper. Art can be the voice that cries out without limits, or sometimes whispers the thoughts of the creator. Art speaks silently, yet conjures up feelings and gives satisfaction that is undeniable, and yet intrinsic. It validates our need to learn about ourselves, and gives us freedom to search for our own identities. The road is long and often dusty, but always renewing the spirit with inspiration. It is my hope in this lifetime to give a part of what I have learned through and on my journey with others. The deepest form of us is revealed in our thoughts and my art is the translation of my thoughts to paper and canvas. I paint layers of color and line to create a history of marks that will guide the viewer into my world of thought and engage them in the process. I embed personal symbols throughout my art to give it deeper meaning. I encourage you to think about life in a visual way and to contemplate our connections with each other and the world we share.
This entry was posted in acrylic, Art right outside my back door. The Big Sunflower River, canvas, cathyhegman, drawing, female, figure, fine art, painting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Works….spring is in the air….

  1. Pat Regan says:

    Wonderful work and blog!

  2. ducly says:

    nice color and composition.

  3. Pingback: Weight of Balance | Cathy Hegman Art and Life

Leave a comment